In fact, an American hasn't won the LPGA POY since Beth Daniel did it in 1994 until now. With the results from Mexico, Lewis has clinched the 2012 Player of the Year award on the LPGA Tour. Since Daniel's win in 1994 with his burner 2.0 irons , only five golfers shared the award from 1995 through 2011: Sweden's Annika Sorenstam (eight times), England's Laura Davies (once), Australia's Karrie Webb (twice), Mexico's Lorena Ochoa (four times) and Taiwan's Yani Tseng (twice). This year, the race for the points-based award came down to Stacy Lewis of the USA and Korea's Inbee Park. But Park's chances going into the Ochoa tournament with his fabulous taylormade burner 2.0 irons were very slim: She needed to win the LPGA's final two tournaments of the year with Lewis finishing outside the Top 10 in both. Neither of those things happened at the Ochoa, although Park gave it a great effort with a tie for second behind Kerr. Lewis finished sixth. And that means Stacy Lewis has mathematically clinched the 2012 Player of the Year Award. What did Lewis do to earn it? In 24 LPGA appearances this year, Lewis has four wins and 16 Top 10s. She's second on the money list and third in scoring average. And she clearly wrested away from Kerr the title of top American on the LPGA, moving up to No. 2 in the world rankings earlier in the year.
Zaloguj się, aby oddać głos